book review

The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry

41wbYKtWi1L._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

This book is so loaded with the feels that I’m still struggling to find my breath. I had just finished reading this 15 minutes ago, but I wanted to get all my thoughts down before I started moving on. I’ve enjoyed a lot of stories, but it’s very rare that any of them inspire me to write a review. This one did, and I think it’s mostly because not a lot of books so far has really captured how something can be so utterly devastating and inherently beautiful at the same time. This book did it so flawlessly. No unnecessary fillers. Just good storytelling, and an abundance of lovely little snippets.

I didn’t want to put the book down, but every now and then, I needed time to literally catch my breath. The author described the little moments so well that I could imagine myself living through them. So when the characters hurt, I felt the pain deep in my gut, tying me up in knots, and making me want to make myself so small that I would curl into myself just to feel some semblance of comfort. I’ve cried in public — at work and on the bus — and didn’t even care that I looked like a blubbering fool. Piece of advice: Read this at home under the covers with a box of Kleenex.

The author makes you take the same journey of rediscovering life after being the living dead (I thought the whole zombie voice was a great way to drive that point home). She gets the readers to slip into the characters’ shoes so effortlessly and makes them live out their struggles and their happiness. It’s not an extraordinary story by any means, but what makes this story so good is that it’s real. I believed it. Heck, I lived it.

I have experienced loss a few times in my life. It’s not the same set of circumstances, no, but this book made me relive my own little moments and my own struggles, and I found them to be so similar. I felt like Brittainy C. Cherry just told my story, and I’m sure that anybody else who’s ever experienced loss will find this book to be cathartic the same way I did. It rips you apart and makes you whole again at the end. Hands down, the best emotional rollercoaster ride I’ve been on this year.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

One thought on “The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry

Leave a Reply

