book review

Mad Woman by Kat Savage

tumblr_o4won6nFfR1tty1ouo1_1280

***ARC provided by Kat Savage in exchange for an honest review.***

It’s definitely been a while since I sat down and read someone else’s poetry, and I’m glad I took a chance on Kat Savage. I had been following her on Instagram for a while now, enjoying everything she’s put up so far. Suffice it to say, this collection did not disappoint.

I have always been fascinated by poets who have the guts to put themselves completely out there all vulnerable and open to criticism. There’s something about poetry that feels a little more personal than any other form of Literature. Don’t get me wrong — hard work is hard work, and any piece created for The Arts will always come to some sort of criticism. But poetry doesn’t work at all when the writer’s emotions aren’t fully invested. There are great story-tellers. And then, there are great poets. They hide truths in similes and metaphors, in vivid images and obscure ideas, but in the end, everything is out in the open.

I could not bring myself to write a review right after reading Mad Woman at first pass. I had to sit and read it over and over again, and savor all the words, all the images, and all the emotions. As an aspiring poet myself, I found myself making all sorts of noises at how certain moments were written out. If you’ve ever sat through a poetry slam and seen/heard the audience snapping fingers and moaning in pleasure, you’ll understand what I mean. Heck, I thought that was always a stupid gesture, and yet, I found myself doing the exact same thing. It was just THAT GOOD.

There’s nothing pretentious about Kat Savage’s poetry. She writes without flowery words, but with strong images that drive her point home. There are no words wasted in this book. When she says in the introduction that she decided to write for herself, what she didn’t realize was that she was writing for every woman who has ever gone mad at one point or another. Love, in whichever form it comes, and as beautiful as it is when it’s good, can be ugly and maddening at times as well. And yet, Kat Savage successfully spins that madness into something equally beautiful.

This is probably one of the most difficult reviews I’ve written because this book hits right home. I would love to quote a few lines, but to write them down out of context won’t do her any justice. Pick up a copy. You won’t regret it.

There is a mad woman in each of us, and Kat Savage is our voice.

Rating: 4 stars

Leave a Reply

