book review

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I regret taking so long to dive into this book, and I’m ashamed to admit that I only bumped this up on my read queue on a movie trailer prompt (I hate reading books after the movie release, but that’s just me). In any case, I’m glad I finally got around to reading it, and let me say — I’m probably skipping the movie now because I don’t think I have the stomach for sobbing over this story twice. My gosh, what a story it was!

Things I loved about the book:

1. The characters were endearing, and I fell in love with them instantly. Handicapped and seemingly broken inside, Will is still stronger than most book boyfriends I’ve ever adored in my life. Without giving much away, it’s worth noting that his decisions take courage, conviction, and a selfless generosity. Meanwhile, Lou brings a much-needed vibrance to Will’s life. She keeps Will on his toes (no pun intended), which makes his decisions all the more worth it in the end. I also cherished the interaction between Will/Lou and the secondary characters in the story. Nathan’s easy friendship and complete understanding of Will’s needs and the struggles that Will’s parents have had to endure through this whole ordeal were some of the more memorable factors that give such depth to this story.

2. The chemistry between Lou and Will. Lou’s quirky antics soften the hardened Will, and it’s just beautiful to watch the friendship grow into so much more. It was a natural progression, and despite its predictability, it was still captivating.

3. The respectful way that the conflict was treated. Jojo Moyes deals with it in a very rational manner, but it will definitely have you questioning your own beliefs. It stuck with me well after the story had ended, but I wouldn’t have changed a thing.

4. Ending it in the most natural way imaginable. It was a solid story with a good flow, and though it seemed too good to be true, it was believable.

I cried my heart out in the last few chapters. At first, I was upset at how it was ending, but the more I read, the more I understood. And the more I understood, the more it felt real to me. What a great story!

Rating: 5 stars

Leave a Reply

