book review

Withering Hope by Layla Hagen

22722898

On the way to meet her fiance in Brazil where they are scheduled to wed in a week, Aimee’s plane crashes in the middle of the Amazon rainforest. With most of their supplies destroyed in the crash, Aimee and her plane’s pilot, Tristan, try to keep their wits about them in an effort to survive until help arrives.

Things I loved about this book:

1. The slow build up set the stage for a believable connection between Aimee and Tristan. It was captivating to watch the natural progression play out between them.

2. The tension is palpable. With dangers lurking at every corner, I felt like I was at the edge of my seat throughout most of the book. And the setting is fleshed out so vividly that it really felt like I was trying to survive along with them. It got my heart pumping so good.

3. It left nothing to the imagination. And I mean that in a good way. All my questions were answered. The story spanned a lifetime but it neither felt rushed or dragging. It was a good pace and I love that it gave me a picture of how life is for Aimee and Tristan after leaving the Amazon. I liked seeing them grow old together.

4. That ending. It gave me the sobs of Nicholas Sparks’s ‘The Notebook’ proportions.

Overall, it was a good read. Definitely looking forward to reading more from Layla Hagen.

Rating: 4 stars

Leave a Reply

