top 5 wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’m Intimidated By

It’s T5W, and today, I’m listing five books that I’m intimidated by.

Granted, not a lot of romance novels intimidate me. Well, unless they’re the classics, historical or just never-ending book series.

51E+iI8ul0L._AC_UL320_SR208,320_

1. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
This one is just huge. I know it’s a great book, I just haven’t had the time to sit down and go through the whole thing. For a person who graduated with a degree in Literature, I’m ashamed to admit I had to do the cliff notes on this biggie. One day though…

2175

2. Madame Bovary by Gustav Flaubert
Another classic, but I actually did get to read this in college. Granted, I skimmed through it (a trimester system doesn’t really leave much room for leisurely reading), but I remember liking the story (after I actually understood what it was all about). I would love to read it again, but I would really need to set aside time to really devour this piece of Literature.

outlander-book-series

3. The Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon
I would love to sink my teeth into this series because I’ve heard so many good things about it. However, the length really intimidates me. Each book already averages 700-800 pages, and there’s eight of them so far (not counting the prequels).

immortalinstruments6books

4. The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare
This is more of a hype issue for me. I downloaded this series onto my Kindle because so many people are raving about it. I started reading the first book a couple of years back, got distracted, and moved on. Totally my fault though, and this is why I try to avoid reading reviews, because now that the series has been out for a while, I’m getting a 50-50 vibe. It apparently is a case where you either love it or you hate it, and I’m scared that I’ll fall under the latter. Will push myself to read this though… Someday.

wuthering-heights

5. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
Like Madame Bovary, I skimmed through this in college. Skimming through this book feels like walking through a haze — you know you’re moving, but nothing much registers with you. I read it because it was required, and although I initially liked the story, I didn’t get to really take my time and enjoy it. I would love to do that, but the language intimidates me, as with most classics. Definitely not for light reading.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’m Intimidated By

    1. Oh, I know what you mean. I would’ve added a lot more to this list if I didn’t limit myself to romance either. Game of Thrones would’ve totally made the list. Same as Chronicles of Narnia (yes, I’m also ashamed to say I haven’t read any of those books). Or Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder. I keep starting that one, but I keep getting distracted and needing something lighter. Haha..

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

