book review

Love is War Series by R.K. Lilley

Untitled-1

What an emotional rollercoaster ride this was!

Let me say that The Tristan and Danika Series is one of my favorites, so to say that I was pretty excited about reading this one is a major understatement.

I read Breaking Him when it came out in October last year, and thought that it had the potential for becoming one of the more unforgettable stories I’ve read. It revolves around Dante Durant, a lovely boy from a privileged family who fell in love with a girl from the wrong side of the tracks, Scarlett Theroux. Told from both POVs and jumping from past to present, the story was surprisingly easy to follow. What started out as a strong friendship when they were younger had turned into full-on hate over the years, their relationship turning tumultuous and destructive. We don’t become privy to the reason behind such a dramatic turn of events until we actually get to Breaking Her. Needless to say, I was cursing up a storm when R.K. Lilley left us hanging at the end of the first book.

What I liked about the first book is that it really established how deeply Scarlett and Dante felt for each other growing up. When the author builds a solid foundation for their relationship, it’s hard to imagine how badly things must’ve turned out for them to completely end up hating each other down the line. With so many unanswered questions, I was definitely itching to get my hands on the sequel.

Breaking Her, also told in the same dual POV which jumps between past and present, had me breathless and exhausted. Plot twist after plot twist, I seem to have kept getting bluer in the face, holding in every gasp in anticipation of what happens next. It’s not until all the revelations have been uncovered at the end of the story did I take a satisfying deep sigh of relief.

Though this was a book that I couldn’t put down, I think this series could’ve done with a third book (yes, coming from the same person who detests cliffhangers). That’s not to say that it didn’t wrap up nicely in the end. I just thought that the author tried to pack so much in the second book, that it almost felt rushed. I would’ve liked to see a little bit more on the interaction between Dante and his half brother, Bastian, maybe even a bit more development in the characters of Bastian and Tiffany (the daughter of Dante’s mother’s best friend, who also happens to have been engaged to Dante at one point) who both ended up playing such significant roles in the end, that I wouldn’t be surprised if they both get their own spin off.

Overall, this was not as good as R.K. Lilley’s other serials, but definitely still worth a read, especially if you’re in the mood for a whirlwind of a story.

Rating: 3.5 stars

Leave a Reply

