personal

undress me

it was easy to wear the sadness
like a broken-in cotton hoodie,
comfort and cozy cocooned
in its unassuming threads.
but he destroys it
with three simple words,
heavy and strong,
catching onto that little piece of me
that’s sticking out.
[reaching out.]
he holds on tight,
anchoring me to him
though every other part of me walks away.
with every step i take
i unravel
unwrap
unveil
unload the sadness
until i’m bared.

like a broken record,
he tells me again,
“you are beautiful.”
and i dance to its lovely sound
finding the easy sway
in my own skin and soul.

Leave a Reply

