top 5 wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Character Names

It’s T5W, and today, I’m listing five (ok, technically six, and you’ll find out later why) names of characters that managed to snag and keep a little piece of my heart over the years.

1. Atreyu
The Neverending Story was one of my favorite stories growing up. As a child who loved reading about adventures and getting lost in their pages, I identified immediately with Bastian. But it was really Atreyu that stole my heart. I looked it up recently and it means “bold guardian”, which pretty much reinforced the image of the strong warrior that the character was written out to be. I keep slipping it onto the list of baby names that my husband and I have put together (despite no immediate plans for kids), but he keeps striking it off. He likes traditional. I like different. We’ll see who gets their way at the end.

2. Loïc
I fell in love with this name after reading Ellie Wade’s Finding London. The first chapter begins with an excerpt of Loïc at age five telling his father that he named him Loïc because it means warrior. Yes, he did grow up striving to live up to the name he was given. And yes, another warrior name. I guess I have a type. Meaningful and strong.

3. Ember
This name stuck with me after reading Full Measures by Rebecca Yarros. Short for December, Ember was every bit as her nickname suggests. There’s a persistent burn in her that helped her keep her family together despite secretly falling apart on the inside herself. It’s that same fire that ignited the spark between her and Josh too.

4. Tristan
If you’ve read some of my previous posts, you’ll know that the Tristan & Danika series by R.K. Lilley is one of my favorite romantic serials, and Tristan was one of the first few guys initiated into my book boyfriends list. He was such a big and loud character, very much like what his name stands for — outcry or bold noise.

5. Aria and Levi
I’m going to cheat on this one and do a two-for-one deal. These names really stuck with me after reading Brittainy C. Cherry’s Art and Soul. She’s really become one of my favorite romance writers, and this story was just downright lovely. In this story, Aria, an art major, gets paired up with Levi, a music major, as the class in tasked to work on a project that fuses art and soul. And when they come together, it’s magic. And because Aria is art and Levi is soul, I just can’t pick one name over the other. Haha

Leave a Reply

