book review

Trigger by L.P. Dover

trigger-ebook-cover

***ARC provided by publisher via NetGalley***

Dark and gritty revenge stories are somewhat of a guilty pleasure of mine. The stories spun with this angle are pretty intriguing to me, mainly because I’m drawn to understanding the psyche of villains and vigilantes alike. This story, however, falls a little short of making my list.

Goodreads description:

A killer . . . that’s what I am.
It’s what I do.
It’s what I live for.
I’m no longer the Preston Hale everyone knew. I left that life and the people in it a long time ago the second I made my first kill. I wasn’t going to give in, but when I heard the screams there was no going back.
It triggered the pain, the need.
I knew what I had to do, and I did it well. But I never expected for Emma Turner – the only link to my past – to come back into my life.
She triggers a different emotion inside me, something I hadn’t ever felt.
It’s not a want to kill . . . but a need to CLAIM.

Things that I think need a bit of work:

1. Character development. Though it felt at times like Preston’s back story was a little too cleanly written out, I can get behind his motivation for killing. Emma, on the other hand, could’ve done with a better back story. She seems to have had a pretty ordinary life growing up in a decent home and having a good set of friends. Apart from landing a cushy job after college, she seemed pretty average. I’m not particularly convinced Emma had the depth of personality to easily buy into Preston’s motivations with barely a blink of an eye.

2. The chemistry between Preston and Emma. I feel like the stage should’ve been set up a little better for Preston and Emma rekindling old feelings. In the beginning of the story, Emma was pretty much an afterthought. Even worse, we don’t really get a glimpse into their past together. So falling hard and fast at this second chance didn’t feel real to me. And frankly, I’m a little disappointed that the same author who writes great second chance stories like Defending Hayden and Catching Summer (check out her Second Chance Series) couldn’t muster up a little more to establish a more solid past for these two main characters.

Things that I liked:

1. The mysterious Wade Chandler. He was probably the most intriguing character in this story, and he was barely even in it. His quiet demeanor and the rumors of his shady past has definitely piqued my interest. I’m looking forward to reading his story next.

2. Easy reading. I breezed through this story in less than a day.

This may not find a spot on my must-read list, but if you’re ever in the mood for some easy reading with a fairly decent plot, give this book a chance.

Rating: 3 stars

Leave a Reply

