book review

Whispers and the Roars by K. Webster

32195246

Saying this story is unforgettable is a major understatement. It’s been two days and I still haven’t moved on to a new story. The book hangover is hurting something fierce.

Before you continue reading, I want to reiterate the Goodreads warning that this is a dark romance with graphic sexual themes and violence that may trigger emotional distress. It’s also worth imparting the same Goodreads advice to go into this book blind.

That being said, this story still really hit me hard despite being drawn to it after reading the short abstract.

Goodreads description:

When my eyes are closed, the monster can’t ever see me.
When I sing a song in my head, the monster can’t ever hear me.
When I pretend my bedroom is a playground where I play hide and seek, the monster can’t ever find me.

The darkness should frighten me.
I should worry I’ll find more monsters…monsters scarier than him.
But I’m not afraid.

It’s safe here.
When I’m inside of my head…

He. Can’t. Ever. Touch. Me.

Whatever you’re thinking right now, any preconceived notions you have, and all the expectations you anticipate won’t even come close to the heart of this story. And trust me — that’s the beauty of it.

Told in multiple points of view, K. Webster does a great job of making the different voices come alive so vibrantly, each character distinct and well-crafted. So well-crafted, in fact, that you might find it a little confusing in the beginning. It can be a difficult read. Some parts will be tough to digest. But before you give up and tag this as DNF, try to power through it. I promise that when you start piecing the puzzle together, you’ll appreciate the complexities and depth of the love between the two main characters, Yeo and Kady.

Despite itching to continue talking about how captivating this story is, I don’t want spoil the experience for you. So do yourself a favor and pick up a copy. Even if this genre isn’t your usual cup of tea, you won’t regret it.

Rating: 5 roaring stars

Leave a Reply

